Awards and Honors

At Purdue, as the Director of Sparc Lab, ECE, Purdue University (2016-present)

  PI Awards:
  • MIT TR35 India Award: Prof. Sen has been named one of India’s top 10 innovators under 35 by MIT Technology Review and Mint.   Mint Newspaper, Purdue News Release
  • National Science Foundation (NSF) CISE Research Initiation Initiative (CRII) Award 2017 ECE SpotlightPurdue FB
  • Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) Young Investigator Award (YIP) 2017 ECE SpotlightPurdue FB
  • Purdue HKN Beta Chapter Outstanding Professor Award. 
  • CICC 2019, Best Paper Award (Overall): Baibhab Chatterjee and co-authors
      Student Awards:
    • HOST 2019, Best Paper Award (student): Debayan Das and co-authors
    • HOST 2018, Best Poster Award (3rd): Baibhab Chatterjee and co-authors
    • HOST 2017, Best Paper Award (student): Debayan Das and co-authors
    • Frederick N. Andrews Fellowship, Purdue University: Baibhab Chatterjee
    • DAC Richard Newton Fellowship 2017: Shovan Maity

      During Intel Labs, as a Research Scientist (2011-2015)

        • Intel Lab Divisional Recognition Award Q3 2014, which led to an Intel Labs Academy Award (Gordy Award: Intel Labs highest award) in 2015 for outstanding contribution to the CPF-Serial & Millerton architecture which led to the new USB C-type specification
        • Best-in-track Award in IEEE International Conference on Computer‑Aided Design (ICCAD) 
        • Honorable Mention Award in IEEE VLSI Test Symposium (VTS) 
        • Intel Lab Quality Award Q2 2012, and nominated for Intel Labs Academy Award for Outstanding Achievement in 2012 as a part of Signaling Research group for relentless drive to push the boundaries of Electrical Signaling Rates to fuel Intel’s I/O Leadership

        At Georgia Tech, as a PhD student and Intel PhD Fellow (2006-2011)

            • Best Thesis Award (Silver) in IEEE VLSI Test Symposium (VTS) 2012 as a part of TTTC's E. J. McCluskey Doctoral Thesis Award
            • Semi-finalist (top 5) in Second ACM Student Research Competition (ACM SRC) at the ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference 2011 (DAC) 
            • Selected for presenting dissertation work at ACM/SIGDA Design Automation Conference (DAC) PhD Forum
            • INTEL Corporation PhD Fellowship 2010-11.
            Shreyas Sen, a Ph.D. student in ECE, Georgia Tech advised by Prof. Abhijit Chatterjee, received the prestigious INTEL Corporation PhD Fellowship Award for the year 2010-11.

            The Intel Corporation Ph.D. Fellowship Program awards fellowships to outstanding Ph.D. candidates pursuing leading-edge work in fields related to Engineering, Computer Science and other technical majors focusing on semiconductor technologies, micro-architecture, Software Technology and Design, and communications. Select U.S. universities are invited to submit a limited number of students for consideration. Those students selected by their university are then carefully reviewed by the Intel fellows and their designees who choose the winning students. This is a highly competitive program with a limited number of fellowships awarded annually. Students in these programs are prioritized for receiving internships. The students in the Ph.D. fellowship program are provided with the opportunity to meet their designated Intel Technical Liaison face to face either at a conference or here at Intel. The award consists of academic year tuition for 2010-2011, a $24,000 stipend and a $1,500 travel grant.

            See details below:
            Congratulations to the 2010 Intel PhD Fellowship Winners
            Intel PhD Fellowship Winners - 2010 [pdf]
            Georgia Tech Newsroom [img]
            College of Engineering, Georgia Tech [img]
            NANOTech, Georgia Tech [img]
            GSRC [img]
            • IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowship Award 2008 by IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S).                         
            This is a extremely prestigious fellowship program awarded to very selected students in the area of Microwave and RF each year. In 2008, 6 students were awarded worldwide.

            See details below:
            Microwave Theory and Technique Society->Microwave Engineering Fellowship
            ECE, Georgia Tech Awards page [img]
            Georgia Tech News  [img]

            MTT Fellowship in IEEE Microwave Magazine [pdf]
            • GSRC Margarida Jacome Best Poster Award in GSRC Annual Symposium, Sept 2007.
            Gigascale System Research Center (GSRC) is one of five research centers funded under the Focus Center Research Program (FCRP), a Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) program. This center is funded by MARCO, DARPA and Industry. It consists of the only the top research schools in USA. 

            This was the 1st year of this GSRC center-wide award which was awarded to our group for the work titled VIZOR: Virtually Zero Margin RF, in which adaptive RF system and circuits have been designed which adapts itself to the environment  to operate at minimum power level possible.  

            • Best Paper Award (Silver) in IEEE Radio  and Wireless Symposium 2008. (IEEE RWS)

            • Best Student Paper Candidate in IEEE International Test Conference (ITC) November 2009
            • Selected for presenting dissertation work at ACM/SIGDA Design Automation Conference DAC 2011 PhD Forum. Received travel grant from ACM/SIGDA. 
            • Selected for Second ACM Student Research Competition at the ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference 2011, DAC 2011.
            • Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Inventor Recognition Award 2008.
            • 2009 Georgia Tech Tower Award for Academic Excellence.

            Under Graduate (2002-2006)

            • Selected for prestigious “Young Engineering Fellowship Program” (YEFP) 2005-an extremely competitive Govt. of India Program, conducted by Indian Institute of Science (IISC), Bangalore.
            • Fellowship recipient IEEE International Conference on VLSI Design 2006 sponsored by Department of Science and Technology, Government of India.
            • Fellowship recipient in International Conference on Pattern recognition and Machine Intelligence,  PReMI 2005. 
            •  Invited to INTEL INDIA for presenting the research work done in IIT KGP. 
            • Best Paper Award in two student contests (including IEEE SPCTS 2005).
            • Selected for a month long camp at Variable Energy Cyclotron Center VECCAL, Kolkata. –a Govt. of India program.


            • Stood 28th (medical stream) & 43rd (engineering stream) in the West Bengal Joint Entrance Examination (WBJEE) among approximately 170,000 examinees in 2002
            •  Was invited and participated in a week long ‘Contact Program for Talented Students’ in Burdwan, India sponsored by Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India.
            • Gold Medalist in school in 12th (10+2) level.
            •  Gold Medalist in school in 10th level.
            •  Awarded several times in the SCIENCE TALENT SEARCH Examinations throughout school life.
            SelectionFile type iconFile nameDescriptionSizeRevisionTimeUser